Game On Sports Bar Saigon
Don't Miss

2017 Rugby League World Cup Live Saigon

Game ON Saigon Sports Bar and Restaurant | Live Sports | 2017 Rugby League World Cup Live Games

2017 Rugby League World Cup Live Saigon

Game ON Saigon will be hosting Live and Loud all of the 2017 Rugby League World Cup Games.

The 2017 Rugby League World Cup will be the fifteenth staging of the Rugby League World Cup. It will be held in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea between 27 October and 2 December 2017.

It will be the main event of the year’s Festival of World Cups.

Host selection

At the 2010 Rugby League International Federation executive meeting, the New Zealand Rugby League made an early submission to co-host the 2017 tournament with Australia. The Rugby League World Cup was last held in Australia in 2008.

Two formal bids were subsequently received by the RLIF before a November 2012 deadline; the co-host bid from Australia and New Zealand and a bid from South Africa. On 19 February 2014, it was announced that the joint bid from Australia and New Zealand had won hosting rights.

Michael Brown, the CEO of several big name Australian sporting franchises and the 2015 AFC Asian Cup, was originally appointed CEO of the World Cup in 2015, but resigned less than a year later due to ‘workload’ and ‘homesickness’. He was replaced by Andrew Hill.


It was announced on 3 August 2014 that 7 of the 8 quarter-finalists from the last World Cup would qualify automatically for the 2017 tournament; hosts Australia and New Zealand, plus England, Fiji, France, Samoa and Scotland. The USA, who were also 2013 quarter-finalists, were denied automatic qualification after a long-running internal governance dispute saw their RLIF membership temporarily suspended in 2014; later, once the matter was resolved, they were accepted into the qualification process. Papua New Guinea were initially set to be involved in the qualifying competition but were later granted automatic qualification, due to becoming co-hosts of the tournament. In addition to the eight automatic qualifiers, the remaining six spots will come from four different qualification zones; three from Europe, one from Asia/Pacific, one from Americas and one from Middle East/Africa.

Tonga were the first team to qualify from the qualification stage after winning the Asian-Pacific play-off. Lebanon were the second team to qualify from the qualification stage, after winning the Middle East-African play-off. The USA were the third team to qualify, winning the Americas qualification group.


Country Qualified as Qualification date Previous appearances in tournament Continent
 Australia Co-hosts 19 February 2014 14 (List) Oceania
 England 2013 Semi Finalists 5 August 2014 5 (1975, 1995, 2000, 2008, 2013) Europe
 Fiji 2013 Semi Finalists 5 August 2014 4 (1995, 2000, 2008, 2013) Oceania
 France 2013 Quarter Finalists 5 August 2014 14 (List) Europe
 Ireland European qualifying group 2 winner 29 October 2016 3 (2000, 2008, 2013) Europe
 Italy European qualifying play-off winner 4 November 2016 1 (2013) Europe
 Lebanon Middle East-Africa play-off winner 31 October 2015 1 (2000) Asia
 New Zealand Co-hosts 19 February 2014 14 (List) Oceania
 Papua New Guinea Co-hosts 8 October 2015 6 (1985–88, 1989–92, 1995, 2000, 2008, 2013) Oceania
 Samoa 2013 Quarter Finalists 5 August 2014 4 (1995, 2000, 2008, 2013) Oceania
 Scotland 2013 Quarter Finalists 5 August 2014 3 (2000, 2008, 2013) Europe
 Tonga Asia-Pacific play-off winner 17 October 2015 4 (1995, 2000, 2008, 2013) Oceania
 United States Americas qualifying group winner 12 December 2015 1 (2013) North America
 Wales European qualifying group 1 winner 29 October 2016 4 (1975, 1995, 2000, 2013) Europe

Match officials

The match officials will be headed by Tony Archer and three coaches: Steve Ganson, Russell Smith and Luke Watts.

  • Australia: Grant Atkins, Chris Butler, Matt Cecchin, Steve Chiddy, Ben Cummins, Adam Gee, Ashley Klein, Jared Maxwell, David Munro, Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski, Belinda Sleeman, Jon Stone, Bernard Sutton, Chris Sutton, Gerard Sutton, Michael Wise
  • England: Phil Bentham, James Child, Mark Craven, Robert Hicks, Chris Kendall, Scott Mikalauskas, Liam Moore, Tim Roby, Ben Thaler
  • New Zealand: Chris McMillan, Henry Perenara


It was announced in October 2014 that negotiations were being held for Papua New Guinea to host matches.[17] The Papua New Guinea Rugby Football League presented to the RLIF in September 2015, requesting to host three matches. In October 2015 it was confirmed that Papua New Guinea would host three matches in the group stage.

Melbourne Rectangular Stadium in Melbourne will host the opening game between Australia and England while Brisbane Stadium in Brisbane will host the World Cup Final. The lack of games in New South Wales, the heartland of rugby league in Australia, drew some criticism. Only one of the 13 confirmed tournament venues was in New South Wales (Sydney Football Stadium) and it is only hosting two group-stage fixtures, both featuring Lebanon. This was due to the refusal of the New South Wales government to bid for hosting rights. Despite the so-called ‘Sydney Cup snub’, the RLWC organisers backed their decision and the venues they were using.

Live & Loud in Saigon – 2017 Rugby League World Cup Action

Showing all LIVE SPORTS in Saigon – Great Food and Drinks, Cold Beer and Awesome staff!

Game ON Saigon expat Sports Bar and Restaurant. The place to enjoy great, fast service and all showing all the 2017 Rugby League World Cup  –  Live and Loud sports in Saigon.

OPEN Mon – Sun From 8:00am `till Late!

115 Ho Tung Mau Str., Ben Nghe Ward, D1, Ho Chi Minh City

Live Sports Saigon – 2017 Rugby League World Cup Live Saigon